9 Comments
Feb 7, 2022Liked by Ruth & Doug Everhart

We did Thanksgiving in Moab with several friends in Lance Truck Campers (along with trailers full of toys - dirt bikes, razors, and rangers). We had a ball and would certainly do it again. I pre-cooked a turkey breast and did the sides and desserts in the camper.

Expand full comment
Feb 7, 2022Liked by Ruth & Doug Everhart

My husband and I celebrated Canadian Thanksgiving in Hawaii, at a luau on Maui (Te Au Moana) during our 25th anniversary trip a few years ago. It was amazing. No regrets at all; would do it again in a heartbeat!

Expand full comment

I should have noted that the women and the waterskiing were at Cypress Gardens.

Expand full comment

When I was 8, my parents celebrated their 25th anniversary with a trip to Florida and took my brother Pete and me along. Since they got married on Christmas Eve and since Pete and I had a break from school, we were traveling over the holidays. My mom bought a little ceramic Christmas tree that she set up on the nightstand in our hotel room, and I think we had fewer gifts than usual. But the trip was a wonderful gift. We saw all of what are now considered the "old Florida" attractions: Cypress Gardens, Silver Springs, Parrot Jungle, Weekee Wachee, Marineland. I remember my father particularly liked all the women dressed up like Southern belles in colorful, old-fashioned, floor-length dresses with bustles. I really liked the waterskiing show with jumps and stunts. On New Year's Eve and New Year's Day we stayed at a lovely little motel in Naples with an outdoor swimming pool and beautiful flowers growing up to the balconies. Best holiday trip ever!

Expand full comment